

NOMINATION CRITERIA FOR PUBLIC MEMBER

CCEPR MISSION

CCEPR serves the public, the dental profession, and other healthcare providers by developing and implementing standards that promote excellence in continuing dental education to support professional competence and continuous improvement of patient care.

CCEPR fulfills its mission by:

- Establishing standards and criteria for the recognition of continuing dental education providers
- Recognizing providers of continuing dental education through a voluntary, self-regulated, peer-review process
- · Promoting quality improvement of continuing dental education standards and recognized providers.

COMPOSITION OF THE COMMISSION

The composition of the Commission for Continuing Education Provider Recognition, as established by the ADA *Governance and Organizational Manual* and the CCEPR *Rules*, includes one public member to be selected by the Commission. The public member may not be a dentist, an allied dental personnel, nor teaching in a dental or allied dental education institution, and must meet the Criteria for Appointment to the Commission. The public member shall be appointed to one (1) four (4) year term.

The composition of the Commission is as follows:

- Four (4) members who shall be appointed by the Board of Trustees of the American Dental Association from the names of active, life or retired members of this Association. None of the appointees shall be a faculty member of any dental education program working more than one day per week or a member of a state board of dental examiners or jurisdictional dental licensing agency. At least two (2) of members appointed shall be general dentists.
- One (1) member who is an active member of the American Dental Education Association and also, if eligible, an active, life or retired member of this Association shall be selected by the American Dental Education Association.
- One (1) dentist who is board certified in the respective discipline-specific area of practice and is selected by each of the following organizations: American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, American Academy of Oral Medicine, American Academy of Orofacial Pain, American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, American Academy of Periodontology, American Association of Endodontists, American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, American Association of Orthodontists, American Association of Public Health Dentistry, American College of Prosthodontists; and the American Society of Dentist Anesthesiologists.
- One (1) member who is also a member of a state dental board or jurisdictional dental licensing agency
- One (1) member appointed by the American Society of Constituent Dental Executives.
- One (1) member of the public who is neither a dentist nor an allied dental personnel nor teaching
 in a dental or allied dental education institution and who is selected by the Commission, based on
 established and publicized criteria.

CRITERIA FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE COMMISSION

All appointees to the Commission must meet the following criteria:

- Ability to commit to one (1) four (4) year term;
- Willingness to commit to ten (10) to twenty (20) days per year to Commission activities, including but not limited to training, comprehensive review of print and electronic materials, and participation in and travel to Commission meetings;
- Ability to evaluate a continuing dental education program objectively in terms defined by recognition standards;
- Stated willingness to comply with all Commission policies and procedures;
- Ability to conduct business through electronic means (email, Commission web sites);

No member of the Commission may hold a leadership position for another entity that has a certification or accreditation program for continuing dental education providers or courses, or be involved in the administration of another certification or accreditation program for continuing dental education providers or courses.

Additional criteria for public member appointees:

- A commitment to bring the public/consumer perspective to the Commission's deliberations. The
 candidate should not have any current connection to the profession of dentistry except as a
 consumer; also, the candidate should have an interest in, or knowledge of, health-related or
 accreditation issues. In order to serve, the candidate must not be a:
 - a. Dentist or member of an allied dental discipline;
 - b. Instructor in a dental or allied dental education institution;
 - c. Employee, member of the governing board, owner, or shareholder of, or independent consultant to a continuing dental education provider or a company that produces dental products or services; or
 - d. Member or employee of any professional trade association, licensing/regulatory agency or membership organization related to, affiliated with or associated with the Commission, dental education, or dentistry.

TERM OF OFFICE

The term of office of the members of the Commission shall be one four (4) year term.

Terms of Commissioners shall begin and end with adjournment of the closing session of the annual meeting of the House of Delegates of the American Dental Association in the appropriate year.

MEETINGS

The Commission meets twice a year to conduct the official business of the Commission, and to finalize ADA CERP recognition actions. Meetings are scheduled in March or April and in September or October. Meetings are held over a day and a half, at the ADA Headquarters in Chicago or virtually. Commissioners are compensated for travel and hotel expenses for attending meetings in Chicago.

The Commission, and any of its appointed committees, may also meet via conference call between regularly scheduled meetings.

CONTACT

For more information contact Mary Borysewicz, CCEPR director, at borysewiczm@ada.org or 312-440-2704.