Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

CCEPR Membership

CCEPR Board Members and Organizations

The Board of the Commission includes members appointed by the following organizations:

Recognized Dental Specialty Organizations (one member each) — 10
American Dental Education Association (ADEA) — 1
American Society of Constituent Dental Executives (ASCDE) — 1
American Dental Association (ADA) — 4

In addition two members are appointed by the Commission:

Public member – 1
State board of dentistry/licensing jurisdiction member — 1

Members of the Commission are appointed to a four year term.

Board of Commissioners

Dr. John D. Ball, Kansas City, MO, chair
Dr. Carlos D. Bertot, Mailtand, FL
Ms. Karen Burgess, Okemos, MI
Dr. Carlotta A. Evans, Boston, MA
Dr. David M. Kim, Boston, MA
Dr. Kecia S. Leary, Iowa City, IA
Dr. Daniel Joseph Meara, Wilmington, DE
Dr. Marc G. Nuger, Glen Burnie, MD
Dr. Kumar J. Patel, Marietta, GA
Dr. Seena Patel, Phoenix, AZ
Dr. Raquel Rozdolski, Hawthorne, NY
Dr. Mitra Sadrameli, Chicago, IL
Dr. Renato M. Silva, Pittsburgh, PA
Ms. Carol Trecek, Milwaukee, WI
Dr. Jasbir D. Upadhyaya, Alton, IL
Dr. Edwin A. del Valle Sepulvede, San Juan, PR
Sr. Susan K. Zelazo-Smith, Chicago, IL

Duties of the CCEPR

The duties of the Commission for Continuing Education Provider Recognition, established in the ADA Bylaws, shall be to:
  • Formulate and adopt requirements, guidelines and procedures for the recognition of continuing dental education providers.
  • Approve providers of continuing dental education programs and activities.
  • Provide a means for continuing dental education providers to appeal adverse recognition decisions.
  • Submit an annual report to the House of Delegates of the American Dental Association and interim reports, on request.
  • Submit an annual budget to the Board of Trustees of the Association.

Members of the Commission are selected in accordance with the Rules of the Commission for Continuing Education Provider Recognition (PDF) and the Governance and Organizational Manual of the American Dental Association. 

Appeal Board

Members of the Appeal Board of the Commission for Continuing Education Provider Recognition are selected in accordance with the Rules of the Commission for Continuing Education Provider Recognition. Appeal Board members are appointed by each of the organizations represented on the Commission, and must have previously served on the Board of Commissioners or the ADA CERP Committee. Current members are listed below.

Dr. Julie Ann Barna, Lewisburg, PA
Dr. Brian Beitel, Huntsville, AL 
Dr. Jeffrey D. Bennett, Avon, IN
Dr. David T. Brown, Greenfield, IN
Dr. Hardeep Chehal, Omaha, NE 
Dr. Debra Dixon, Edwardsville, IL 
Dr. Joseph P. Fiorellini, Philadelphia, PA 
Ms. Janice Gibbs-Reed, Newark, NY
Dr. Timothy C. Kirkpatrick, Missouri City, TX 
Dr. Mitchell J. Lipp, New York, NY
Dr. Mary Tavares, Cambridge, MA